You know the Sun is hot when...

red750

11 hours ago, Marty_d said:

Who wants a hot breakfast when it's 49 degrees??

I missed breakfast this morning, to get an earlier start to beat the heat. Might skip lunch was well. 

Been months since I fasted. Post Xmas dietary excesses, it’s sure to do me some good.

Dr. Micheal Mosely (in his Trust Me, I’m a Doctor TV series) covered various forms of fasting to lose weight and improve health. Seems that even half a day might have some benefits.

• Agree 1
  • Informative 1

11 minutes ago, facthunter said:

Keep the water up though.  OLD people shouldn't lose weight quicky as the weight you lose may be MUSCLE as well as fat. Nev

Hoo u calling old? 

I’ve never carried much extra weight, but belly fat from good living isn’t good for anyone.

Yep, drinking plenty of water is important, but some people can survive in deserts with very little. Robin Davidson, during her camel trek across Oz, was able to walk all day without drinking, but finished each day with copious mugs of tea.

• Haha 1

It is not the heat that causes the problem, it is the heat plus humidity. I gave up working outside at 0930 this morning. It was only 31 deg, but the humidity meant I was covered in sweat and I hadn't been working hard.

• Like 2

When I was younger (20's and 30's) I could go for quite a few hrs in hot conditions without drinking a great deal. Now I'm old and getting a little less robust every day, I find that I need to drink a lot more - and I find I'm also sweating a lot more in hot conditions, and I sweat a lot more easily, than I did when I was younger. Not sure if everyone else finds it the same. I think I now have less ability to cope with humidity, than I did when I was younger.

• Agree 1