Regulated out of a little earner

old man emu

Being retired, I'm always on the lookout for ways and means to earn a few extra shekels to supplement a fixed income. I thought I had a good idea that would enable me to pass on my experience to the younger generation. Here's how the idea came to me:

1. Learner drivers are required to have 120 hours driving experience before they apply for a licence test.

2. Parents are often too busy keeping the family going, and allocating time to each of their childrens' activity needs to give over such a huge block of time to one child.

3. A driving lesson with a professional costs about $65 per hour.

4. I've got plenty of free time.

5. I have nearly 50 years driving experience.

6. I was a Highway Patrol officer, so was trained to drive at the Police Driver Training School to a higher standard than General Duties Police, and the public in general.

7. I am certified in traffic accident reconstruction, having completed my training in one of the best schools in the USA.

8. I was involved in traffic law enforcement for nearly thirty years.

9. I hold a "Working with Children" clearance, and a Public Vehicle Driver's Authority.

With all of the above, I thought that I could hire myself out to enable learner drivers clock up their hours in their parents' cars. I figured $20 - $25 per hour would be a reasonable price for this service.

But here's the rub.

In order to provide driving instruct other persons for a fee, one must have a driving Instructor's licence

You can only apply for a Driving Instructor's licence if:

• You're at least 21 years old OK

• You've held a full driver licence (not learner, provisional, probationary or restricted) of the relevant class for at least three years during the four-year period immediately prior to your application for an instructor's licence OK

• You've been authorised by Roads and Maritime Services to undertake an approved course in driving instruction, and have passed. Haven't got it