Driverless trucks.

red750

Been trialled in other countries for a while: https://www.thesun.co.uk/tech/12877332/driverless-trucks-motorways-einride/

I understand they had a few on roads for a while in the UK.. but certainly in Sweden: https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/scania-tests-self-driving-trucks-in-motorway-traffic-301220989.html

It's coming.. At that stage, I will be thankful I am a pilot. No, wait! Drones.. Darn it, we are all doomed to a fiery death in a collision.

Couldn't be any worse than some of the "skilled" truck drivers we have now, behind the wheel ....

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-04-14/truck-driver-jailed-over-melbourne-eastern-freeway-crash/100066336

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2021-08-10/truck-driver-carl-allan-bridge-trial-double-fatal-corrigin/100363754

And I could write a book about some of the woeful truck driving incidents I've encountered. 

• Agree 1

There was a very sad accident here where a truck driver, texting on his phone, plughed into the back of a car killing the mother and 2 or three children while they were stoppped at traffic lights. The father was driving the car stopped at the traffic lights next to the car that was hit.

The driver was jailed, but under the Road Traffic Act, the max penalty is 10 years of causing death by dangerous driving. Personally, it should be the same as manslaughter, which is max life sentence.. I can't recall if the driver got the max of 10 years.

He was.. Here is a link: https://metro.co.uk/2018/09/16/harrowing-video-of-motorway-crash-every-driver-needs-to-see-7949929/

To be honest, I think that driverless cars will in general be far safer than driver cars - especially when the vast majority of them are driveless.

• Agree 2

The low level of skill requirements and the low level of training for truck drivers, plus the pressure on truck drivers to meet unacceptable schedules are all major problems in the trucking industry here - and probably worldwide.