Airleg mining

The management of the Ballarat gold mine is accused by unions of negligence in the death of a miner. They say that airleg mining is a cost cutting exercise.

I was involved in setting up the Ballarat mine and running it, until about ten years ago. I also worked as an airleg miner when I was young.

it is a more hazardous method than mechanised mining but is still used in many places, though gradually being phased out. At Ballarat the environmental activists have stalled the development of more space in the tailings dam. Airleg mining allows more selective mining so that the amount of waste rock, hence tailings, can by cut to one third or less. It is the only way to keep operating with very limited tailings space. So it is more environmentally acceptable than the safer mechanised method.

I have no connection with the mine and no knowledge of their decisions. But it seems to have been a choice between shutting down, with loss of jobs, or using airleg mining.

People outside the industry react to mining accidents with horror. But they are rare. Road accidents occur daily and we seem to accept them as inevitable. This one seems to me like the environmentalist who demands that roadside trees be preserved. Then someone hits one and is killed. It is an unintended consequence, usually driven by people who do not understand or take responsibility for what they are demanding.

• Like 1
  • Informative 2

1 hour ago, pmccarthy said:

I was involved in setting up the Ballarat mine and running it

When I heard that it was a rockfall, I wondered what the geology is at the depth the incident occurred. I thought gold was found amongst metamorphic rocks, which, having been baked by igneous intrusion, would be a lot harder than sedimentary rock.

PMC, "Please explain".