Australian Tennis Season

willedoo

I was wondering if anyone has been watching the Hopman Cup, and if so, what the broadcast quality is like. There's never been a problem with channel 7 but with the changeover to 9 it's not looking good. Where I am, it's broadcast on 9 Gem and the quality is comparable to watching an old VHS video. In fact it's so fuzzy, it's virtually unwatchable. I'm hoping the Australian Open will be on 9HD but haven't been able to find out yet if it is.

Surely the whole season won't be broadcast like that. They'd lose a few hundred thousand viewers and a lot of future sponsorship if that's the case. Hopefully they're just having a few teething problems.

Doesn't look too bad on GEM here in Melbourne, Willie, but I'm no expert.

My son is off to Hobart next Saturday to be linesman at the Hobart International, then back to Melbourne Tuesday night to start his 17th Oz Open. Hate the black uniforms - what a colour to choose for Melbourne's hot January days.

Thanks Peter. My version of it is fairly bad. The player at the far end of the court doesn't even have any facial features, that's how bad the resolution is. I'll give it a couple of days and see what happens. If it doesn't improve, I might make some enquiries. The channel 7 broadcast quality was always good; you could make an accurate call on where the ball landed, but with Gem here, you can barely see the ball. I'll try re-tuning the tv and see if that helps.

Nine seems to be going from bad to worse. At the moment they are broadcasting the Fast Four matches which is ok. They have two other channels and have decided to show the American sitcom 'Friends' and not broadcast the singles matches of probably the two most popular Australian players, Alex de Minaur and Daria Gavrilova . It's great for fans of that sitcom, but a big middle finger to Australia's tennis fans from channel nine.

I just hope they do a better job at the Australian Open.