Interesting short video - A=432 hz Versus the long accepted A=440 hz.

There may well be some Musical and also Plant Growing Nerds who are fascinated by this revelation. . .

I have been a professional musician for all of my working life (37 years) and a music teacher (Clarinet Flute and Sax) for 27 years, which is probably why I am very familiar with this conspiracy theory.

This clip contains many errors one of which is the idea that the Nazis did it. 440 hertz well and truly predates the 40s, being first recommended in 1834 by Schiebler although it did not become an international standard until 1955.

There are loads of other fallacies in this clip but I won't bore you all with them (unless you want me to - lol)

An interesting point is that A=432 sounds flat to most musicians ears, in fact, the instruments I teach are usually played slightly flat in the hands of a beginner due to poor technique and it does not sound good!

A=440 is arbitrary but so is 432, their argument here is not well presented other than "studies show"

If 432 had been adopted earlier it may well sound normal to our western ears (remember the music we are talking about here is western, other cultures use different systems that sound odd to us)

An interesting point is that because flatness tends to sound dull and (a small amount) of sharpness sounds bright, some orchestras deliberately tune slightly sharp. This slight sharpness makes them sound a little brighter than their rival orchestras, this leads to a problem called "pitch inflation", which could be likened to a kind of arms race.

Cheers

.I have been a professional musician for all of my working life (37 years) and a music teacher (Clarinet Flute and Sax) for 27 years, which is probably why I am very familiar with this conspiracy theory.