I hate poor virtual customer service

Jerry_Atrick

When I was a software developer (some 30 years ago) I was a peckerhead - buried deep in the system mechanics to worry about an abstract concept like users. Then I went for an interview with Coles Myer and one of my interviewers who was an ex-peckerhead said somethng that resonated with me.. As a systems programmer (as I was called), I can make the machine run a few microseconds or even a second faster and users will not even notice it (of course they will notice a machine that becomes progressively slower). However, as an applications programmer (the stuff users use), users will notice every improvement, no matter how minor. So I switched.

As an applications programmer, I spent a long time focused on how a user would use the system and what automation + information flows work so the users have everything they need where and when they need it. My environment was predominantly green screen, but towards the end of my programming career, I was into Windows and Apple as well as the emerging internet (very early days).

For myself (and most that I worked with), the user and user-friendliness were king. Simplicity for the user was king; not simplicity for the programmer. And we did inter-operate with external firms systems (we were doing things like integrating with supplier's systems for purchasing, etc long before standards emerged). It was the days before the internet, so the type of user was well known, however, the concepts are the same.