CAD drafting

metalman

Hi all, I've been using Auto Cad for a few years but only had a student copy after doing the course at a tafe, the license has now expired and I need to look at getting another program . I mostly do 2D but the 3d looks pretty cool , I see some of the guys here are doing some pretty nice 3d modelling .

So the question is what program? I'm open to suggestions, as I said I mostly need it for 2d , and I need it to be reasonably priced, Auto Cad is around $8-9k for the basic package, as I'm not a drafting business ,I just do my own stuff in house,

Cheers Matty

I use Google Sketch-Up - $free for private use, although you can pay extra to access enhanced features or for commercial use. 3D and access to libraries and drawings by other users (some pretty awful), but you can usually find something to get started or add in - eg furniture, gears. It integrates to Google Maps so you can acquire a building or terrain and work with it. Has a some similarities to Autocad and I found the transition fairly easy. It can convert Autocad files.

I don't use it often, and have no need to output to 3D printer or CNC, so can't comment on its ability there. Good value for the price - $Free - supported by a community of enthusiasts.

Sue

I use Google Sketch-Up -

Yup, fastest, easiest and most logical program out there and extremely underated.

Solid works it may not be and ultimately there's some things it can't do, but I haven't found yet what it can't do, I designed and am having plastic 3D parts printed out - now all done in SU.

3D and access to libraries and drawings by other users (some pretty awful), but you can usually find something to get started or add in - eg furniture, gears.